1963-2013 - 50 years of Research for Social Change

  • 0
  • 0

Back | Programme: Société civile et mouvements sociaux

Toward a Typology of Civil Society Actors: The Case of the Movement to Change International Trade Rules and Barriers



L’auteur propose ici une typologie des acteurs de la société civile selon leurs attributs organisationnels et leur vision du monde et l’applique ensuite au mouvement pour changement des règles du commerce international et ce qui y fait obstacle. Il entend ainsi contribuer aux débats actuels sur l’autonomie et l’influence grandissantes de la société civile et sur la diversité croissante des acteurs de la société civile dans le contexte de la mondialisation.

L’auteur commence par esquisser la situation socio-historique actuelle. Se plaçant dans la perspective de l’évolution sociale, il fait valoir que l’ère de la mondialisation se caractérise par l’émergence d’une nouvelle forme sociale, le “réseau”, qui ouvre la voie à une prolifération d’acteurs non étatiques et transforme la nature même du conflit social. L’auteur soutient également que, dans ces conditions, les acteurs de la société civile gagnent en influence, que la sphère de la société civile acquiert une plus grande autonomie et devient de plus en plus le lieu du conflit social.

Dans ce contexte socio-historique, l’auteur propose ensuite une typologie des acteurs de la société civile, qu’il range en quatre catégories: (i) les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG), qui ont une structure officielle et hiérarchique et tiennent un discours rationnel; (ii) les mouvements sociaux, qui sont amorphes et spontanés, horizontaux, charismatiques, cathectiques et de plus en plus réticulaires; (iii) les réseaux d’acteurs de la société civile qui sont segmentés, flexibles, polycentriques, synergiques et générateurs d’informations et (iv) les plateaux où se retrouvent des acteurs de la société civile et qui ont une géographie fixe, sont discontinues dans le temps, itératives et rhizomatiques.

Pour situer sa typologie dans l’histoire et lui donner des formes sociales concrètes, l’auteur l’applique au mouvement pour le changement des règles du commerce international et ce qui y fait obstacle. A cette fin, il analyse quatre moments de ce mouvement, qui correspondent aux quatre catégories de la typologie. Il prend comme exemple d’ONG Focus on the Global South. Il étudie les mobilisations latino-américaines contre les zones de libre-échange comme type de mouvement social, et se penche sur une coalition britannique pour le commerce équitable, le Trade Justice Movement, comme type de réseau d’organisations de la société civile. Pour la plateaux où se retrouvent des groupes de la société civile, il choisit l’exemple du Forum social mondial, en étudiant plus précisément la place qu’y tient l’objectif—changer les règles du commerce international et ce qui y fait obstacle.

L’auteur conclut en élaborant son argument normatif central: le processus de rationalisation que souhaitaient les acteurs de la société civile pour exercer plus d’influence a paradoxalement réduit leur légitimité et leur potentiel d’émancipation. Ainsi, par exemple, les liens économiques et juridiques tissés par les ONG pour influencer les “institutions de ce monde”—l’économie, la politique et les milieux universitaires—servent à perpétuer ces institutions, qui les instrumentalisent parfois pour se légitimer.
  • Publication and ordering details
  • Pub. Date: 3 Oct 2007
    Pub. Place: Geneva
    ISSN: 1020-8178
    From: UNRISD

1963-2013 - 50 years of Research for Social Change

  • 0
  • 0

Back | Programme Area: Civil Society and Social Movements (2000 - 2009)

Toward a Typology of Civil Society Actors: The Case of the Movement to Change International Trade Rules and Barriers



This paper proposes a typology of civil society actors based on organizational attributes and worldviews. It then applies the typology to the movement to change international trade rules and barriers. In so doing, it aims to contribute to current debates about the increasing autonomy and influence of civil society, and the growing diversity of civil society actors in the context of globalization.

The paper begins by sketching the current sociohistorical situation. The author argues, from a social evolution perspective, that the age of globalization is characterized by the emergence of a new social form, the “network”. This new social form is giving way to the proliferation of non-state actors and is transforming the nature of social conflict. The author further maintains that under these conditions, civil society actors are gaining leverage, and the sphere of civil society is gaining greater autonomy and is increasingly becoming the locus of social conflict.

Against this sociohistorical context, the paper next proposes a typology of civil society actors. This typology consists of four categories: (i) the formally structured, hierarchical and rationalized non-governmental organizations (NGOs); (ii) the amorphous and spontaneous, horizontal, charismatic, cathectic and increasingly reticular social movements; (iii) the segmented, flexible, polycentric, synergistic, information-generating networks of civil society actors; and (iv) the geographically fixed and temporally discrete, iterative, rhizomatic plateaus of civil society actors.

In order to historically situate and socially concretize the typology, the author applies it to the case of the movement to change international trade rules and barriers. Toward this end, four moments of this movement, which correspond to the four categories of the typology, are analysed. As an example of the NGO moment, the author considers Focus on the Global South. For the social movement–type, he analyses the Latin American mobilizations against the free trade areas (FTAs). As an example of a network of civil society organizations, he looks at the Trade Justice Movement. And for an example of a plateau of civil society groups, the author considers the World Social Forum, and specifically how the objective of changing trade rules and barriers has been present in this forum.

The author concludes by elaborating his central normative argument: the process of rationalization desired by civil society actors in order to achieve greater influence has, paradoxically, undercut their legitimacy and emancipatory potential. Thus, for example, the economic and juridical ties weaved by NGOs in order to influence “worldly institutions”—the economy, politics and academia—serve to perpetuate the worldly institutions and are at times instrumentalized by these same institutions in order to legitimize themselves.
  • Publication and ordering details
  • Pub. Date: 3 Oct 2007
    Pub. Place: Geneva
    ISSN: 1020-8178
    From: UNRISD