1963-2018 - 55 years of Research for Social Change

  • 0
  • 0

Back | Programme Area: Social Dimensions of Sustainable Development

Development, Environment and Peace Nexus (DEEPEN): Peace Making in Borderlands

Date: 3 - 5 Dec 2020

  • Time: Varies according to location
  • Location: Online and in Cheorwon, Republic of Korea
  • Donor(s): Gangwon Province, Cheorwon County, PLZ Festival
  • Counterpart(s): People for Earth

  • This event is open to the public.

Development, Environment and Peace Nexus (DEEPEN): Peace Making in Borderlands
Violence and conflict in borderlands are inseparable from environmental degradation and hinder social development. This close connection, however, also provides the potential to reverse the vicious cycle of conflict, disruption to nature and social exclusion and move, through a holistic transformative approach, toward a virtuous cycle of peace, ecological integrity and inclusive development. At this uniquely multidisciplinary conference, speakers will explore the complex relationships between development, environment and peace in borderlands, challenging conventional approaches and introducing innovative theories and practices for sustainable and peaceful development.

The DEEPEN conference is part of an annual series called PLZ Forum for Ecozoic Era. See our co-organizer's website for this year's edition and to register.

Structure of the conference


This is a hybrid conference. The in-person event is being held at the Hantan River Spa Hotel, in Cheorwon, Republic of Korea. Space at the venue is limited in order to observe physical distancing and prevent the transmission of Covid-19, and attendance is by invitation only.

The on-line event is open to a global audience and free of charge. Register now!

The timing for each session is indicated in three different time zones. Interpretation between English and Korean will be provided.

📰 Read the concept note here.

If you have any questions about the conference, please contact our co-organizer at cheorwonforum@gmail.com.

Thursday 3 December

Opening session and keynotes


New York (GMT-5) 00.00 - 02.30; Geneva (GMT+1) 06.00 - 08.30; Seoul (GMT+9) 14.00 - 16.30

Opening speeches
  • Moon-soon Choi (Governor, Gangwon Province)
  • Kyung-wha Kang (Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Korea) (TBC)
  • Young-gil Song (Member of National Assembly, Chairman of the Foreign Affairs and Unification Committee, National Assembly of the Republic of Korea)
  • Jongho Park (Korea Forest Service, Republic of Korea)
  • Jae-suk Chung (Administrator of Cultural Heritage Administration, Republic of Korea)
  • Nam-chun Park (Mayor, Incheon Metropolitan City)
  • Jae Kang Lee (Vice Governor for Peace, Gyeonggi Province) (TBC)
  • Kumsil Kang (Executive Director, People for Earth)
  • Paul Ladd (Director, UNRISD)

Keynote speeches
  • In-young Lee (Minister of Unification, Republic of Korea)
  • Haecheol Chun (Member of Parliament)


Session I: Borders and borderlands in the twenty-first century


New York (GMT-5) 03.00 - 05.00; Geneva (GMT+1) 09.00 - 11.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 17.00 - 19.00

The session addresses the importance of borders in peace, ecology and development contexts, and key issues for peace making in the contexts of borderlands.

- How do the nature of borders or borderlands on the one hand, and paths to peace on the other hand, affect each other?
- What are the key dimensions that define the nature of borders?
- What are the significant variables that determine conflict, violence and peace in borderlands?

More details about Day 1 speakers and presentations here

Speakers
  • Chae-han Kim (Professor, Hallym University, Republic of Korea)
  • Jonathan Goodhand (Professor, SOAS, University of London, UK)
  • Patrick Meehan (Senior Teaching Fellow, SOAS, University of London, UK)
  • Nimmi Kurian (Professor at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India; and Faculty Advisor, India China Institute, The New School, New York, USA)
  • Roland Bleiker (Professor of International Relations, Peace Studies and Political Theory, School of Political Science and International Studies, the University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Lily Murei (Policy Research and Data Specialist, Africa Borderlands Centre, UNDP Resilience Hub for Africa, Kenya)

Moderator: Ilcheong Yi (Senior Research Coordinator, UNRISD, Switzerland)


Session II: Peace by peaceful means in borderlands


New York (GMT-5) 08.00 - 10.00; Geneva (GMT+1) 14.00 - 16.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 22.00 - 00.00

- How are diverse peace approaches conceptualized and practised in the context of borderlands?
- How do everyday practices, norms and politics of those living and working in borderlands interact with interventions of the state and states-system or international structures and institutions?
- What are the lessons we can draw from diverse cases of peace-making processes in borderland contexts, in particular in specific contexts such as the DMZ on the Korean peninsula?

More details about Day 1 speakers and presentations here

Speakers
  • Séverine Autesserre (Professor, Columbia University, USA)
  • Heidi Hudson (Professor of Political Science and Program Director at the Centre for Africa Studies, University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa)
  • Erika Weinthal (Professor of Environmental Policy, Duke University, USA; and Duke Kunshan University, China)
  • Oliver P. Richmond (Professor, Manchester University, UK)

Moderator: Taekyoon Kim (Professor, Graduate School of International Studies, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)


Friday 4 December

Session III: Diverse approaches to harmony with nature in the context of peace making in borderlands


New York (GMT-5) 20.00 - 22.00 (Thursday); Geneva (GMT+1) 02.00 - 04.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 10.00 - 12.00

This session addresses the opportunities and challenges of diverse approaches to the environment or nature for peace making in the contexts of borderlands.

- How can different approaches to the environment and nature contribute to making peace in the context of borderlands?
- What do new and emerging concepts and approaches to nature or the environment—such as ecozoic era, biocracy, Buen Vivir, earth jurisprudence, or constitutional or legal rights for nature—have to offer for peace making in the context of borderlands?

More details about Day 2 speakers and presentations here

Speakers
  • Maria Sanchez (Sustainable Development Officer, United Nations Harmony with Nature Programme, USA)
  • Tae-hyun Park (Professor, Kangwon National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Chung Hae Kang (Professor, University of Seoul, Republic of Korea)
  • Jian Bao Wang (Research Fellow & Director, Center for the Humanities and Business Ethics & Research Center on the Confucian Economic Sphere & Research Center on New Business Civilization; CKGSB(Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business) and PKU(Peking University); Academic Assistant Dean of Institute for Advanced Humanistic Studies(IAHS); Director of DCE (Discourse on Confucian Entrepreneurs) Program at World Ethics Institute Beijing (WEIB))
  • David Havlick (Professor, University of Colorado, USA)

Moderator: Dunja Krause (Research Officer, UNRISD, Switzerland)


Session IV: Diverse approaches to harmony with nature and their relationship with peace and development


New York (GMT-5) 01.00 - 03.00; Geneva (GMT+1) 07.00 - 09.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 15.00 - 17.00

This session addresses the opportunities and challenges of diverse approaches to the environment or nature.

- How inclusive are the concepts, theories and practices that integrate environment and peace?
- What do new and emerging concepts and approaches to nature or the environment—such as ecozoic era, biocracy, Buen Vivir, earth jurisprudence, or constitutional or legal rights for nature—have to offer for peace making?
- What would be the desirable governance and culture for harmony with nature?

More details about Day 2 speakers and presentations here

Speakers
  • Anna Grichting (Senior Research Fellow, University of Vermont, USA)
  • Klaus Bosselmann (Professor, University of Auckland, New Zealand)
  • Rakhyun E. Kim (Assistance Professor, Utrecht University, the Netherlands)
  • Costas M. Constantinou (Professor of International Relations, University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
  • Jun Soo Kim (Researcher, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Republic of Korea)
  • Chae Won Im (Senior Researcher, Kyung Hee University, Republic of Korea)

Moderator: Dong Suk Oh (Professor, Ajou University, Republic of Korea)


Session V: Sustainable development and transformation in borderlands


New York (GMT-5) 03.30 - 05.30; Geneva (GMT+1) 09.30 - 11.30; Seoul (GMT+9) 17.30 - 19.30

This session discusses policies and institutions for sustainable development as both transformations of unjust structures and transitions towards peace.

- What are the major developmental concerns in the context of borderlands?
- What policies and institutions can overcome the structure that generate injustice and inequalities in the context of borderlands?
- How to foster participatory decision-making approaches involving all stakeholders in transparent and democratic political processes?

More details about Day 2 speakers and presentations here

Speakers
  • Fred Cocozzelli (Associate Professor, St. John’s University, USA)
  • Andrea Zinzani (Research Fellow, University of Bologna, Italy)
  • Laura Hammond (Professor, SOAS, University of London, UK)
  • Paul Nugent (Professor of Comparative African History, University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Eunyoung Jung and Young Joo Lee (Lawyers, Sun Probono Center, Republic of Korea)
  • Jongho Han (Director, Gangwon Center for Creative Economy & Innovation, Republic of Korea)

Moderator: Sangmin Nam (UNESCAP Subregional Office for East and North-East Asia, Deputy Head, Republic of Korea)


Session VI: Interventions by the United Nations


New York (GMT-5) 07.00 - 09.00; Geneva (GMT+1) 13.00 - 15.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 21.00 - 23.00

This session will introduce some UN projects on peace, development and the environment in borderlands and share policy relevant lessons.

- Which major interventions have UN agencies undertaken to address issues related to peace making in borderlands?
- What are the opportunities and challenges of these interventions by the UN system?
- What lessons can be drawn to maximize the impacts of UN interventions on the SDGs related to the environment, development and peace making in borderlands?

More details about Day 2 speakers and presentations here

Speakers
  • Kristoffer Tangri (Team Leader, Partnerships & Programmes, UNDP Africa Borderlands Center, Nairobi, Kenya)
  • Celia Halle (UNEP, Head of Environmental Peacebuilding Programme, Switzerland)
  • Kaori Kawakami (UNESCO, Chief, Emergency Preparedness and Response Unit, France)
  • Amado Philip de Andrés (UNODC, Regional Representative)
  • Rana Taha (UNDPPA, Peace and Development Advisor in Kenya, Kenya)
  • Marcello Notarianni (UNWTO, external expert, International Hospitality & Sustainable Tourism Expert | Associate SMA Tourism)
  • Abigail Hartley (UNMAS, Chief of Policy, Advocacy, Public Information and Resource Mobilization)

Moderator: Isabell Kempf (Head of Bonn Office & Senior Research Coordinator, UNRISD, Germany)


Saturday 5 December

Session VII: Closing roundtable


New York (GMT-5) 01.00 - 03.00; Geneva (GMT+1) 07.00 - 09.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 15.00 - 17.00

This roundtable will summarize the discussions and highlight the lessons and findings from the conference. It invites policy makers from the Republic of Korea and representatives of UN agencies in the Republic of Korea and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea to discuss the challenges and opportunities of North-South Korean cooperation and feasible policies and institutions facilitating integrated approaches to peace within and beyond the DMZ.

More details about Day 3 speakers and presentations here

Speakers
  • Stephan Klingebiel (UNDP, Director, UNDP Seoul Policy Centre, Republic of Korea)
  • Hyoung-Joon Lim (UNWFP, Director, UNWFP Korea Office, Republic of Korea)
  • Sangmin Nam (UNESCAP Subregional Office for East and North-East Asia, Deputy Head, Republic of Korea)
  • Byongjin Ahn (Kyung Hee University, Professor, Republic of Korea)
  • Gangwon Provincial Government Officer (TBC)
  • UNWFP in Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (TBC)
  • UNFPA in Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (TBC)

Moderators: Kum-Sil Kang (Executive Director, People for Earth, Republic of Korea) and Paul Ladd (Director, UNRISD, Switzerland)
Rapporteur: Samuel Brülisauer (Research Analyst, UNRISD, Switzerland)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The conference includes two Special Sessions organized by our partners. Note that the Special Sessions take place between Session VI and VII.

Special Session: Solidarity, Assembly and Governance: The Peace Process in Contact Zones of East Asia


New York (GMT-5) 20.00 - 22.00 (Friday); Geneva (GMT+1) 02.00 - 04.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 10.00 - 12.00
Organized by Reconciliation and Co-existence in Contact Zone (RCCZ)
  • Kyounghwa Lim (Research Professor, RCCZ Research Center, Chung-Ang University, Republic of Korea)
    An Unstable Island of Korean-Japanese Relationship: Focusing on Tsushima’s Transformations in the Midst of the 2019 Conflict between South Korea and Japan
  • W. Anne Joh (Professor, Garett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, USA)
    Open Wounds of Korea’s DMZ and the US/Mexico Border: Re-membering Against Borders of Empire
  • Naomi Chi (Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy, Hokkaido University, Japan) & Akihiro Iwashita (Professor, Slavic Eurasian Research Centre, Hokkaido University, Japan)
    Development in ‘Contested’ Borderlands: Prospects and Challenges in the Northern Territories (Kuril Islands)
  • Sungkyung Kim (Professor, University of North Korean Studies, Republic of Korea)
    Mobile North Korean Women and Long-Distance Motherhood: The (Re)Construction of Intimacy and the Ambivalence of Family
  • Woohyung Chon (Professor, RCCZ Research Center, Chung-Ang University, Republic of Korea)
    Peace Process Implicit in the Plan of the Tumen River International City Bordering North Korea, China and Russia

Moderator: Yong Ku Cha (Professor, Chung-Ang University, Republic of Korea)

Discussant:
  • Byoung Kwon Sohn (Professor, Chung-Ang University, Republic of Korea)


Special Session: Local and Subnational Perspectives on Sustainable and Peaceful Development in the East Asian Borderlands


New York (GMT-5) 23.00 (Friday) - 01.00; Geneva (GMT+1) 05.00 - 07.00; Seoul (GMT+9) 13.00 - 15.00
Organized by the Center For Asian Urban Societies (CAUS), Seoul National University
  • Jinn-yuh Hsu (Professor, National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
    Geopolitics and Development: the Borderwork of Kimen and Matsu Islands in the Cross-Strait Relation
  • Takashi Yamazaki (Professor, Osaka City University, Japan)
    Inter-island borderity/territoriality in East Asia: From a Japanese perspective
  • Seung-Ook Lee (Assistant Professor, KAIST, Republic of Korea)
    Seeing like a border: Towards an agenda for border studies in the Korean Peninsula
  • Bae-Gyoon Park (Professor, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
    The role of local forces and trans-local networks for the development of peaceful geo-political economies in the East Asian border regions

Moderator: Haeran Shin (Professor, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)

Organizers



Hosts



Partners

  • RCCZ
  • CAUS
  • Sun Probono Center